UCL logo

UCL Discovery

UCL home » Library Services » Electronic resources » UCL Discovery

In foreign tongues Milan Kundera's and Andreï Makine's French prose

Rubins, M; (2007) In foreign tongues Milan Kundera's and Andreï Makine's French prose. Osteuropa , 57 (5)

Full text not available from this repository.

Abstract

The trans-European identity of bilingual authors such as Milan Kundera and Andreï Makine forces us to reconsider the conventional categories of "East" and "West" or "foreign" and "native". Both authors have exchanged their homeland for exile; both write novels and essays in French. Their belonging to the European tradition combines with a distanced, "eastern" view of French culture, society and media. Kundera resists being classified as a Czech patriot and author. Instead, by means of inter-textual references, he stresses the trans-national element of his work. Makine presents himself as writer and prophet in the tradition of Tolstoi and Dostoevskii and exposes cultural and historical myths.

Type: Article
Title: In foreign tongues Milan Kundera's and Andreï Makine's French prose
UCL classification: UCL > Provost and Vice Provost Offices
UCL > Provost and Vice Provost Offices > UCL SLASH
UCL > Provost and Vice Provost Offices > UCL SLASH > SSEES
URI: http://discovery.ucl.ac.uk/id/eprint/1402045
Downloads since deposit
0Downloads
Download activity - last month
Download activity - last 12 months
Downloads by country - last 12 months

Archive Staff Only

View Item View Item