UCL logo

UCL Discovery

UCL home » Library Services » Electronic resources » UCL Discovery

In foreign tongues. Milan Kundera and Andreï Makine's French prose

Rubins, M.; (2007) In foreign tongues. Milan Kundera and Andreï Makine's French prose. Osteuropa , 2007 (5) pp. 169-188.

Full text not available from this repository.

Abstract

The trans-European identity of bilingual authors such as Milan Kundera and Andreï Makine forces us to reconsider the conventional categories of "East" and "West", or "foreign" and "native". Both authors have exchanged their homeland for exile; both write novels and essays in French. Their belonging to the European tradition combines with a distanced, "eastern" view of French culture, society, and media. Kundera resists being classified as a Czech patriot and author. Instead, by means of inter-textual references, he stresses the trans-national element of his work. Makine presents himself as a writer and prophet in the tradition of Tolstoy and Dostoevsky and exposes cultural and historical myths.

Type:Article
Title:In foreign tongues. Milan Kundera and Andreï Makine's French prose
Publisher version:http://www.eurozine.com/articles/2007-05-21-osteuropa-en.html
Language:English
Additional information:German publication. Special issue of Osteuropa: Der Osten im Westen. Importe der Popularkultur. Abstract given in German and English. Please see http://eprints.ucl.ac.uk/13031 for the German version.
UCL classification:UCL > School of Arts and Social Sciences > SSEES

Archive Staff Only: edit this record